|
582 Main Street |
New Brunswick Tourism Region : Acadian Coast
Description From Owner:
- An early settler, Charles Doucet, is credited with founding this community. When the post office opened in 1850 the place name was Little Rocher. (Rocher is French for rock).
- In 1854 the name changed to Madisco, derived from the Micmac mskegool, for 'hay.' From about 1870 the name has been PetitRocher. The village was incorporated in 1966.
- In early July the community hosts the annual Festival de Rameurs, or Dory Boat Festival. The Mines and Minerals interpretation Centre of New Brunswick at 397 Principale St. offers guided tours, exhibits, educational games,
- visual projections and the simulation of a trip underground.
- With permission from 'New Brunswick Place Names' David E. Scott 2009
Address of this page: http://nb.ruralroutes.com/PetitRocher
Quick Search
